CDA | ACD

Partnerships

The Canadian Dance Assembly works with a number of service organizations to reinforce the dance milieu at a local level and augment membership across the country.  Please note that the following membership agreements reflect individual membership agreements only.

Current Membership Partners:

Canadian Alliance of Dance Artists - Ontario Chapter (CADA-ON) 

The Canadian Alliance of Dance Artists, Ontario Chapter (CADA-ON) is a non-profit organization that empowers and educates dance artists towards the use of best practices in an evolving sector. We work to improve the status and working conditions of individual dance artists.  When you become a member of CADA-ON, you also become a member of the Canadian Dance Assembly!

The benefits of a CADA-ON membership are:
•    The Training Subsidy Program. Submit receipts from professional training and physical conditioning (workshops, classes, gym membership, etc) and get reimbursed up to 60% (annual cap of $325)
•    Access to professional discounts on shows, health clinics, yoga studios and more.
•    A joint membership with the Canadian Dance Assembly

CADA-ON also publishes the Professional Standards for Dance, a public document available online that outlines working conditions, best practices, and recommended minimum rates of pay for dance artists. A series of contract templates are available for use by artists in negotiations.

Click here to learn more and become a member.

Canadian Alliance of Dance Artists – BC Chapter (CADA-West)

A joint membership agreement with CADA-West was established in 2009 with a similar desire to connect local artists to a larger national network.  CADA-West is a membership of dance artists working together to raise the professional standards within the dance employment sector. CADA-West represents these interests at political and community meetings at the municipal, provincial and national levels.  They work with other dance service organizations across Canada to support already existing community services and identify new opportunities.  CADA-West also serves as a resource for several Arts Councils for fees and rates within the dance arts milieu.

Dance Nova Scotia (Dance NS)

Individuals can add their CDA membership onto their Regional Arts Service Organization at a discounted rate.  Dance Nova Scotia members may choose to opt-in to a CDA membership as they renew their yearly membership.  Those individuals signing up through Dance NS receive a rate of $20 for dance artists and $30 for dance managers and administrators.  Students may also join for a yearly fee of $10.  Dance Nova Scotia is the umbrella service organization for all forms of dance in Nova Scotia. Their mandate is to encourage, promote and support dance as a cultural, educational, social, recreational and healthful activity for Nova Scotians of all ages, abilities and backgrounds.

Dance Saskatchewan (Dance SK) 

Similar to the relationship with Dance Nova Scotia, Dance Saskatchewan members may choose to opt-in to a CDA membership as they renew their yearly membership.  Those individuals signing up through Dance SK receive a rate of $20 for dance artists and $30 for dance managers and administrators. Students may also join for a yearly fee of $10.  Dance Saskatchewan’s vision is to create a viable, unified organization which represents and advocates dance interest; to foster a respect and acceptance of dance which encourages free expression of cultural identity; and to establish a vibrant environment for dance which cultivates performance opportunities, stimulates employment, and celebrates heritage and cultural diversity.

Media Partnership:

The Dance Current Magazine

The Canadian Dance Assembly is proud to have a partnership agreement with the Dance Current magazine, Canada’s national media source on dance. The Dance Current is a magazine that takes the reader inside the art and culture of Canadian dance. Regular issues include artist profiles, interviews, feature articles, opinions and critical commentary from people in the profession, plus a calendar of events that keeps readers informed about upcoming performances.

Canadian Dance Assembly
55 Mill Street, Suite 312
Case Goods Building #74
Toronto, ON M5A 3C4
Canada
Tel: 1.416.515.8444
Fax: 1.416.515.9444

CDA | ACD

Partenariats

L’Assemblée canadienne de la danse collabore avec un certain nombre d’organismes de services pour renforcer le milieu de la danse au plan local et accroître le nombre des membres à travers le pays. Veuillez prendre note que les ententes d’adhésion avec les organismes suivants ne concernent que les membres individuels.

Les ententes actuelles d’adhésion :

Canadian Alliance of Dance Artists - Ontario Chapter (CADA-ON)

Les personnes qui adhèrent à CADA-ON deviennent automatiquement membres de l’ACD. Cette entente d’adhésion conjointe a commencé en 2008 et s’est avérée particulièrement efficace pour connecter les artistes ontariens au réseau national. CADA-ON est un organisme de services bien implanté dans son milieu qui travaille pour que ses membres acquièrent les outils pour mieux se porter eux-mêmes à la défense de leurs intérêts. Il compte parmi ses programmes, le Training Subsidy Program (depuis 2002), les communications électroniques et l’adhésion conjointe à l’ACD (depuis 2008). Il se consacre principalement à l’établissement de meilleures pratiques. Il a publié, à cet égard, le guide Professional Standards for Dance (PSD).

La CADA-ON accomplit sa mission en produisant des ressources, comme des outils de développement professionnel, et en soutenant la recherche et le développement  dans le domaine touchant à la situation économique des artistes. Le modèle CADA-ON est à l’image d’une communauté de travailleurs dont les rôles, en tant qu’artistes, fluctuent entre ceux d’entrepreneur, d’exécutant ou membre d’un collectif, un modèle, donc, très différent de la relation traditionnelle employeur/employé.

Canadian Alliance of Dance Artists – BC Chapter (CADA-West)

Une entente d’adhésion conjointe a été établie en 2009 avec CADA-West dans le même souci de permettre aux artistes d’une région de rejoindre le réseau national. CADA-West regroupe des artistes de la danse qui travaillent ensemble à rehausser les standards professionnels dans le domaine de l’emploi en danse. CADA-West représente cette volonté auprès des instances municipales, provinciales et nationales. Elle collabore avec les autres organismes de services de Colombie-Britannique et du reste du Canada, afin de soutenir les services existants et pour saisir de nouvelles possibilités. CADA-West sert également de référence auprès de nombreux conseils des arts au sujet des cachets et des tarifs dans le milieu de la danse professionnelle.

Dance Nova Scotia (Dance NS)

Des membres individuels peuvent adhérer à l’ACD à un tarif réduit par le biais de leur organisme régional de services pour les arts. Par exemple, les membres Dance Nova Scotia peuvent choisir d’adhérer à l’ACD à chaque renouvellement de leur adhésion. La cotisation pour ces membres est alors de 20 $ pour les artistes de la danse et de 30 $ pour les directeurs et les administrateurs d’organismes de danse. Les étudiants peuvent bénéficier, quant à eux, d’un tarif de 10 $. Dance Nova Scotia est l’organisme-cadre de services pour toutes les formes de danse en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il a pour mandat d’encourager, de promouvoir et de soutenir la danse comme activité artistique, éducative, sociale, récréative et saine auprès des Néo-Écossais de tous âges, habilités et origines.

Dance Saskatchewan (Dance SK) 

Dans le même esprit, les membres de Dance Saskatchewan peuvent choisir d’adhérer à l’ACD à l’occasion du renouvellement annuel de leur cotisation. La cotisation à l’ACD est alors de 20 $ pour les artistes de la danse et de 30 $ pour les directeurs et les administrateurs d’organismes de danse. Les étudiants peuvent bénéficier, quant à eux, d’un tarif de 10 $. L’ambition de Dance Saskatchewan est de créer un organisme solide et uni qui veille à la défense des intérêts de la danse auprès de toutes les instances; de stimuler le respect et la reconnaissance d’une danse qui reflète la libre expression d’une identité culturelle; d’établir un environnement stimulant pour la danse car elle multiplie les occasions de performance, encourage l’emploi de ses artistes et artisans et célèbre la diversité du patrimoine culturel de la province.

Partenariat avec les médias :

The Dance Current Magazine 

L’Assemblée canadienne de la danse est particulièrement fière de son entente avec le magazine The Dance Current, le média écrit de la danse au Canada. The Dance Current est un magazine qui donne au lecteur un accès à l’art et à la culture de la danse canadienne. Les numéros courants incluent des portraits d’artistes, des entrevues, des articles, des opinions et des commentaires critiques de personnalités de la profession, de même qu’un calendrier des événements, qui informent les lecteurs des spectacles à venir.

Canadian Dance Assembly
55 Mill Street, Suite 312
Case Goods Building #74
Toronto, ON M5A 3C4
Canada
Tel: 1.416.515.8444
Fax: 1.416.515.9444