CDA | ACD

History and Overview

For a number of years, dance was the only arts discipline in Canada without a broad-based national arts service organization. This led to challenges stemming from a lack of national representation, communication, and coordination. The CDA was established to address those needs – needs repeated on many occasions since the collapse of the Canadian Association of Professional Dance Organizations (CAPDO), and the Dance in Canada Association (DICA).

For years, infighting and old arguments separated the dance community in Canada. The Dance in Canada Association (DICA), once a powerful voice for dance is no longer. The Canadian Association of Professional Dance Organizations (CAPDO), which broke away from DICA in the late 1970’s and which too was once a powerful voice for dance, was weakened in the late 1990’s to a point where it became redundant.

A new beginning starts by acknowledging the past, our history. Moving forward with the knowledge of that history is important.

Blazing the Dance Trail, held in Toronto in May 2001 for the Canadian dance community, was the first conference of the Canadian Association of Professional Dance Organizations (CAPDO) convened in years. The delegates found common ground in the need for dance to promote and educate, as well as communicate; in the need for professional development; as well as in the need to gather information – statistical, qualitative and quantitative – to make ourselves understood.

A new board of directors for CAPDO was assembled with a mandate given by the delegates to achieve some objectives on behalf of the dance community. The task that occupied the group the most was:

Developing a statement of needs for a strong national mechanism for dance in Canada; defining the parameters of that/those mechanism(s), potentially as a National Arts Service Organization (NASO), and/or a federation of Regional Arts Service Organizations, and/or a membership-based organization, and/or other.

At its meeting in December 2001, the Board of Directors of CAPDO unanimously passed a motion: “to continue to operate CAPDO while we develop a new national entity to meet the needs of the dance community”.

This decision was made with the recognition that a truly new national organization was required. A significant turning point was reached. The Canadian Dance Assembly grew out of this turning point, as well as the ideas discussed at Blazing the Dance Trail in May 2001, and since.

On April 9, 2002, the Canadian Dance Assembly was launched. In the following 6 months, over 50 organizations and individuals joined the Canadian Dance Assembly. They created 6 Standing Councils: Ballet Companies, Dance Companies, Dance Presenters, Service and Support, Independent Dance Artists, and Dance Consultants and Freelancers.

During the month of October 2002 – through a process of nominations, elections and appointments – the first representative National Council of the organization was formed to replace the Founding National Council.

The first representative National Council of the CDA held its inaugural meeting on November 30 and December 1, 2002 in Toronto, Ontario. This meeting set a course to continue to build the organization that has given hope of a better future to the community. Work began on the development of a more realistic plan toward realizing the potential of our organization’s mandate.

In April 2003, the CDA established its permanent home at the Historic Distillery District Complex in Toronto, a place where it will become part of a diverse and lively local arts community, while it focuses on the national dance community. The secretariat will enable the organization to continue to work toward its goals.

Canadian Dance Assembly
55 Mill Street, Suite 312
Case Goods Building #74
Toronto, ON M5A 3C4
Canada
Tel: 1.416.515.8444
Fax: 1.416.515.9444

CDA | ACD

Historique et vue d’ensemble

Historique

La danse a pendant longtemps été la seule discipline artistique au Canada sans organisme de services nationaux dans le domaine des arts au mandat étendu, une situation qui conduisit à de nombreux défis dûs à un manque de représentation, de comunication et de coordination à l'échelle nationale. L'Assemblée canadienne de la danse fut créée pour répondre à ces besoins, exacerbés depuis la disparition de l'Association canadienne des organismes professionnels de la danse (ACOPD) et de l'Association Danse au Canada (ADAC).

La collectivité canadienne de la danse s’est vue déchirée pendant des années par des dissensions internes et d’anciennes controverses. L’Association danse au Canada (ADAC), autrefois porte-parole puissant de la danse n’est plus. L’Association canadienne des organisations professionnelles de la danse (ACOPD) qui s’est détachée de l’ADAC à la fin des années 70, elle-même puissant porte-parole de la danse, vit son influence baisser à la fin des années 90 au point de devenir elle aussi superflue.

Un nouveau début reconnaît le passé, notre histoire en somme. Il est important d’aller de l’avant sans l’ignorer.

La conférence intitulée La danse se fraie un chemin au Canada et tenue à Toronto en mai 2001 pour mettre en vedette la collectivité de la danse canadienne, a été la première qu’ait organisée l’ACOPD depuis de longues années. Les déléguées et délégués présents se sont entendus pour reconnaître les besoins de la danse, soit : la représentation, la sensibilisation et la communication; la nécessité de programmes de perfectionnement professionnel, et le besoin de recueillir des renseignements qualitatifs, quantitatifs et statistiques, pour bien nous faire comprendre.

Il y eut réunion d’un nouveau conseil d’administration de l’ACOPD, dont le mandat, arrêté par les délégués était d’atteindre différents objectifs, au nom de la collectivité de la danse. Le groupe se concentra surtout sur :

l’élaboration d’un énoncé des besoins en vue de la mise en place d’un mécanisme national puissant approprié à la danse canadienne; la définition des paramètres de ce(s) mécanisme(s) avec la possibilité d’en faire un organisme de services nationaux dans le domaine des arts ou une fédération d’organismes de services régionaux dans le domaine des arts, une association mutuelle ou un autre organisme.

Au mois de décembre 2001, le Conseil d’administration de l’ACOPD, à l’unanimité, proposa la motion suivante, à savoir : « que l’ACOPD continuerait à fonctionner jusqu’à ce qu’un nouvel organisme national puisse satisfaire aux besoins de la collectivité de la danse. »

Cette décision fut prise en toute connaissance de la nécessité de créer un nouvel organisme véritablement à l’échelle nationale. Nous venions d’atteindre un moment décisif, un point tournant qui permit à l'Assemblée canadienne de la danse de voir le jour et aux idées débattues lors de la conférence intitulée La danse se fraie un chemin au Canada, tenue en mai 2001 et depuis, d'être remises en question.

Le lancement de l'Assemblée canadienne de la danse (ACD) eut lieu le 9 avril 2002. Au cours des six mois qui suivirent, plus de 50 organismes et particuliers s'étaient joints à l'ACD, créant six conseils permanents : celui des compagnies de ballet, des companies de danse, des diffuseuses et des diffuseurs en danse, de soutien logistique, des artistes indépendants en danse et celui des consultants et pigistes en danse.

Le premier Conseil national représentatif de l'Assemblée fut créé en octobre 2002 par un processus de mises en candidature, d'élections et de nominations, pour remplacer le Conseil national fondateur.

Le premier Conseil national de l'Assemblée canadienne de la danse tint sa réunion initiale les 30 novembre et 1er décembre 2002 à Toronto, Ontario. Au cours de cette réunion, il fut, d'une part, décidé de continuer à bâtir l'organisme qui avait redonné à la collectivité l'espoir d'un avenir meilleur et, d'autre part, d'entreprendre l'élaboration d'un plan plus réaliste en vue de réaliser le potentiel du mandat de l'ACD.

Au mois d'avril 2003, l'ACD s'installa dans ses bureaux permanents dans le complexe historique du quartier de la distillerie, à Toronto, où elle fera partie d'une collectivité locale artistique à la fois variée et dynamique et où elle pourra se concentrer sur la collectivité nationale de la danse. Le secrétariat l'aidera à poursuivre ses objectifs.

Canadian Dance Assembly
55 Mill Street, Suite 312
Case Goods Building #74
Toronto, ON M5A 3C4
Canada
Tel: 1.416.515.8444
Fax: 1.416.515.9444